MEMBER, Financial Services Tribunal (FST)

​APPOINTMENT AND ACCOUNTABILITY

The Member, Financial Services Tribunal (FST) is appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council under provisions in the Financial Services Commission of Ontario Act, 1997. The FST is composed of the Chair, two Vice-Chairs, and between six and twelve Members and all of whom are part-time members.

 

The Member, FST is accountable to carry out authorities and responsibilities as assigned to an FST Member by Management Board of Cabinet directives, The Financial Services Commission of Ontario Act, 1997 and related statutes/regulations, and the Memorandum of Understanding between the Minister of Finance and Chair, FSCO and Chair, FST and CEO, FSCO and the Superintendent of Financial Services.
 

PURPOSE

To act as a Member of the FST, an independent quasi-judicial agency which carries out adjudicative functions in connection with appeals or reviews of the decisions or notices of proposal or notices of intended decision under applicable legislation of the Superintendent of Financial Services or the Deposit Insurance Corporation of Ontario.
 

KEY DUTIES

To conduct pre-hearings so as to facilitate a fair, timely and effective hearing, and to chair/participate on tribunal panels to hear/consider evidence and submissions, and issue tribunal decisions/rulings. To attend and participate in meetings of FST members and provide services as determined at such meetings or at the request of the FST Chair.

Law and Procedure

The Member, FST may carry out the following responsibilities alone as a single adjudicator or as part of a tribunal panel as determined by the Chair and in accordance with applicable law including the Statutory Powers and Procedure Act (SPPA).
 
  • Participate in scheduled and ad-hoc meetings of the FST and its Members.
  • Conduct FST pre-hearings including reviewing materials thoroughly; ensure that all organizational, preliminary and procedural issues on the pre-hearing agenda are dealt with and resolved, identifying opportunities to resolve the dispute or specific issues in the dispute before moving on to a hearing, facilitating, when appropriate, joinder of applications or appeals, or expediting the hearing by way of achieving agreement on the facts of the case.
  • Ensure that the pre-hearing memorandum is prepared and issued in a timely fashion, and that it accurately sets out the substance of discussions and any procedural, preliminary agreements, undertakings and orders. Advise the Registrar of any follow-up requirements.
  • Chair and/or participate as a member of FST hearings including reviewing all relevant materials in preparation for the hearing; hearing submissions and evidence presented by parties, actively listening to comprehend interests and positions; understanding and applying relevant legislation, policies and rules, and being open-minded, evenhanded, fair and courteous to all parties.
  • Review and analyze all hearing evidence and submissions thoroughly, participate in an open, frank and conscientious manner in panel member discussions, and work cooperatively with other panel members to arrive at a decision.
  • Make decisions that are independent and free of outside influence and based on the evidence and consideration and application of relevant law. Issue on a timely basis, clear, well-written, soundly reasoned decisions/rulings, which are understandable and can be implemented by the parties to a dispute and within the time frames established by the FST.
  • Provide appropriate case file management and direction to FST staff on hearing directed issues.
  • Ensure the security and confidentiality of files and case information.
  • Participate in initial FST training and stay current in the field by engaging in ongoing professional development.
  • Participate on special projects, training, and/or committee work as assigned by the Chair or the Chair’s designate.
  • Comply with policies and practices applicable to the FST or as set out in Management Board of Cabinet directives to meet financial accountability and administrative requirements.
  • Work constructively and contribute to a collegial atmosphere at the FST by sharing knowledge, time and experience with other FST appointees and FST staff.
  • Maintain positive, productive and appropriate relationships with stakeholders and all parties appearing before the FST.
  • Participate in setting Tribunal goals, in designing and establishing the Tribunal’s adjudicative process and in establishing measures of service quality and performance for the Tribunal.
  • Meet established FST performance measures.
  • Perform all assigned responsibilities.

Integrity and Fair Practices

 

  • As FST hearing chair, conduct hearings in accordance with the Financial Services Commission of Ontario Act, 1997 and regulations, and other applicable laws, as well as within relevant FST policies, procedures and rules of practices; ensure equal access, fair treatment and due process in hearing practices; maintain control of the hearing, swear in all witnesses, and maintain a list of the hearing exhibits for the Registrar following completion of the hearing.
  • Recognize and deal appropriately with situations that may involve an issue of alleged bias or declared an apparent conflict of interest in accordance with the FST rules and Conflict of Interest rules and guidelines.
  • Deal with conflicting and diverging interests while maintaining decorum, due process and professional and respectful interactions among all participants.
  • Act with integrity and honesty, and ensure that actions are guided by the best interests of the FST mandate and the public.

QUALIFICATIONS

The Member, FST requires the following abilities, skills and knowledge in order to carry out responsibilities effectively:
 
  • Experience in interpreting and applying legislation with specific knowledge of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario Act, 1997 and related legislation/regulations.
  • Good understanding of the mandate of the FST and the FSCO.
  • Understanding of the professional, institutional and community context within which the FST operates.
  • Understanding of the justice system, administrative law, adjudicative processes including the SPPA and common law concepts of natural justice and fairness.
  • Knowledge of the FST Rules of Practice and Procedure.
  • Demonstrated analytical and legal comprehension skills.
  • Aptitude for adjudication including fairness, good listening skills, open mindedness, good judgement, and tact and the ability to communicate clearly and effectively.
  • Awareness and sensitivity to the various interests and issues represented at hearings.
  • Ability to understand and interpret legislation and to organize and analyze evidence; familiarity with precedent decisions, and the ability to formulate reasoned decisions.
  • Knowledge of adjudication practices, settlement, mediation skills and analytical and decision making skills to chair tribunal panels, make effective decisions, and resolve complex matters involving multiple interests, under public scrutiny.
  • Impartiality and sound judgement to fairly assess cases involving issues regarding conflicting verbal/written evidence and the assessment of credibility.
  • Excellent writing skills and the ability to prepare a clear well-reasoned decision that takes into account the evidence, the submissions, the law and policy.
  • Commitment to ongoing professional development to enhance expertise and remain current in the field.
  • Good organizational skills to manage a heavy workload with complex, ongoing processes.
  • Self-confidence, self-control and sensitivity to the diverse interests of parties in order to maintain effective control in confrontational and stressful situations.
  • Commitment to respect diversity, and to maintain fair, transparent processes that meet high professional standards.
  • Computer literacy.
  • Ability to work effectively in a team environment.
  • Ability and willingness to travel, and a willingness to participate in FST meetings and non-hearing related matters (e.g. committee work, training, and projects for the development/review of FST policies, rules, procedures).
  • Commitment to public service and to the FST and its mandate/work, and commitment to high ethical standards and personal/professional excellence.
July 28, 2017

Membre du Tribunal des services financiers (TSF)

​NOMINATION ET RESPONSABILITÉ

Le(la) membre du Tribunal des services financiers (TSF) est nommé(e) par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil en vertu des dispositions de la Loi de 1997 sur la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario. Le TSF se compose d'un président, de deux vice-présidents et de six à douze membres qui travaillent tous à temps partiel.

 
Le(la) membre du TSF doit exécuter les responsabilités et fonctions qui lui sont attribuées par les directives du Conseil de gestion du gouvernement, par la Loi de 1997 sur la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario et ses règlements connexes, et par le protocole d'entente conclu entre le ministre des Finances et président de la CSFO et président du TSF et directeur général de la CSFO et le surintendant des services financiers.
 

OBJET

Agir comme membre du TSF, un organisme quasi-judiciaire indépendant qui s’acquitte de fonctions d’arbitrage dans les processus d’appel ou de révision de décisions, d’avis de proposition ou d’avis d’intention en vertu de lois applicables qui ont trait au surintendant des services financiers ou à la Société ontarienne d’assurance-dépôts.
 

FONCTIONS PRINCIPALES

Mener des conférences préparatoires à l'audience afin de faciliter la tenue d'audiences équitables, rapides et efficaces, présider des comités d'audition du tribunal ou participer à des comités d'audition du tribunal chargés d'entendre ou d'examiner des preuves ou des observations; rendre des décisions ou jugements du tribunal. Assister et participer aux réunions des membres du TSF et fournir les services déterminés aux réunions à la demande du président du TSF.

Lois et procédures

Le(la) membre du TSF peut exécuter les responsabilités suivantes en tant qu'arbitre seul ou au sein d'un comité d'audition du Tribunal selon ce que décidera le président et conformément aux lois applicables, dont la Loi sur l’exercice des compétences légales.
 
  • Participer à des réunions prévues et ad hoc du TSF et de ses membres.
  • Tenir des conférences préparatoires à l'audience du TSF, y compris examiner attentivement les documents; veiller à ce que toutes les questions organisationnelles, préliminaires et procédurales figurant au programme de la conférence préparatoire à l'audience soient traitées et réglées, en cernant les possibilités de régler le différend ou certains aspects du différend avant l'audience, faciliter dans la mesure du possible la jonction de demandes ou d'appels, ou assurer le déroulement rapide de l'audience en obtenant des ententes sur les faits de la cause.
  • Veiller à ce que le mémoire de la conférence préparatoire à l'audience soit préparé et publié dans les meilleurs délais, et qu'il rende compte avec exactitude de l'essentiel des discussions et de toute entente procédurale préliminaire ou des engagements et ordonnances qui ont eu lieu à la conférence préparatoire à l'audience. Aviser le greffier de tout suivi nécessaire.
  • Présider des audiences du TSF ou participer à des audiences du TSF à titre de membre, notamment en examinant tous les documents pertinents avant l'audience, entendant les observations et témoignages présentés par les parties, écoutant activement afin de comprendre les intérêts et positions; comprendre et appliquer les lois, politiques et règles pertinentes; garder un esprit ouvert, demeurer objectif, juste et courtois envers les parties.
  • Examiner et analyser attentivement les preuves et les observations produites à l'audience, participer d'une manière ouverte, franche et consciencieuse aux discussions des membres du comité d'audition, et travailler en collaboration avec les autres membres du comité d'audition afin de parvenir à une décision.
  • Prendre des décisions indépendantes et sans influence extérieure, fondées sur les preuves et la loi applicable. Rendre des décisions bien motivées et bien rédigées dans les meilleurs délais, qui sont faciles à comprendre et qui peuvent être mises en œuvre par les parties au différend dans les délais établis par le TSF.
  • Assurer la gestion des dossiers et fournir des conseils au personnel du TSF sur des questions relatives à l'audience.
  • Assurer la sécurité et la confidentialité des dossiers et des renseignements sur les cas.
  • Participer à la formation initiale du TSF et demeurer au courant des nouveautés dans le domaine en participant à des séances de perfectionnement professionnel continu.
  • Participer à des projets spéciaux, à de la formation, et à des comités selon les instructions du président ou de la personne désignée par le président.
  • Se conformer aux politiques et pratiques applicables au TSF ou aux dispositions des directives du Conseil de gestion du gouvernement en vue de se conformer aux exigences d'administration et de responsabilité financière.
  • Travailler de façon constructive et contribuer à l'atmosphère collégiale au TSF en partageant ses connaissances, son temps et son expérience avec les autres membres du TSF et le personnel du TSF.
  • Maintenir des relations positives, productives et appropriées avec les intervenants et les parties qui comparaissent devant le TSF.
  • Participer à l'établissement des objectifs du Tribunal, à la conception et à la mise en place des processus décisionnels du Tribunal, ainsi qu'à la prise de mesures de la qualité du service et de la performance pour le Tribunal.
  • Satisfaire aux mesures de la performance du TSF établies.
  • Exécuter toutes les responsabilités assignées.

Intégrité et pratiques équitables

 

  • En tant que président d'audiences du TSF, conduire des audiences conformément à la Loi de 1997 sur la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario et à ses règlements, ainsi qu'aux autres lois applicables et aux politiques, procédures et règles de pratique du TSF; assurer un accès égal, un traitement équitable et une application régulière dans les pratiques d'audience; maintenir le contrôle de l'audience, faire prêter serment à tous les témoins et tenir une liste des pièces produites à l'audience pour le greffier, après la fin de l'audience.
  • Reconnaître les situations qui pourraient aboutir à un préjudice présumé et leur trouver une solution adéquate, ou déclarer un conflit d'intérêts apparent conformément aux règles du TSF et aux règles et directives sur les conflits d'intérêts.
  • Régler les intérêts contradictoires et divergents tout en maintenant le décorum, l'application régulière des règles et des interactions professionnelles et respectueuses entre tous les participants.
  • Agir avec intégrité et honnêteté, et assurer que les actions sont guidées par l'intérêt véritable du TSF et du public.

EXIGENCES

Le(la) membre du TSF doit posséder les capacités, aptitudes et connaissances suivantes pour exécuter ses responsabilités avec efficacité :
 
  • Expérience dans l'interprétation et l'application de la loi, avec des connaissances particulières de la Loi de 1997 sur la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario et des lois et règlements connexes.
  • Bonne compréhension du mandat du TSF et de la CSFO.
  • Compréhension du contexte professionnel, institutionnel et communautaire dans lequel le TSF exerce ses fonctions.
  • Compréhension du système de justice, du droit administratif, des processus décisionnels en vertu de la Loi sur l'exercice des compétences légales, y compris les concepts de justice naturelle et d'équité en vertu de cette loi et de la common law.
  • Connaissance des Règles de pratique et procédure du TSF.
  • Aptitudes démontrées à l'analyse et à la compréhension de textes juridiques.
  • Aptitude à l'arbitrage, notamment sens de l'équité, bonne écoute, ouverture d'esprit, bon sens du jugement et tact, et capacité de communiquer clairement et efficacement.
  • Sensibilité aux intérêts et enjeux divers qui sont représentés aux audiences.
  • Capacité de comprendre et d'interpréter les lois et d'organiser et d'analyser les éléments de preuve; familiarité avec les précédents, capacité de formuler des décisions motivées.
  • Connaissances des pratiques d'arbitrage, aptitudes au règlement amiable et à la médiation, capacités analytiques et aptitude à prendre des décisions pour présider des comités d'audition du tribunal, rendre des décisions efficaces et résoudre des affaires complexes mettant en jeu de multiples intérêts sous l'examen du public.
  • Impartialité et bon sens du jugement pour évaluer équitablement les cas mettant en jeu des questions de preuves orales et écrites contradictoires et l'évaluation de la crédibilité.
  • Excellentes capacités rédactionnelles et aptitude à préparer une décision bien motivée qui prend en considération les preuves, les observations, les lois et les politiques.
  • Engagement à suivre des cours de perfectionnement professionnel afin d'améliorer ses compétences et de demeure au courant des nouveautés du domaine.
  • Bonnes aptitudes organisationnelles pour gérer une lourde charge de travail avec des processus complexes et continus.
  • Confiance en soi, contrôle de soi et sensibilité aux intérêts divers des parties afin de maintenir le contrôle efficace dans des situations de confrontation et de stress.
  • Engagement à respecter la diversité et à maintenir des processus équitables et transparents qui sont conformes à des normes professionnelles élevées.
  • Connaissances informatiques.
  • Aptitude à travailler efficacement au sein d'une équipe.
  • Capacité de se déplacer et de participer aux réunions du TSF et à des activités qui ne sont pas liées aux audiences (p. ex., activités de comités, formation et projets liés à l'élaboration ou à la révision des politiques, règles et procédures du TSF).
  • Engagement envers la fonction publique et le TSF et son mandat et ses activités, engagement de respecter des normes d'éthique élevées ainsi que l'excellence personnelle et professionnelle.
Le 28 juillet 2017