Part IV - Pre-hearing Procedures

​15. Commencement of Proceedings

15.01
A proceeding is initiated by a Request for Hearing (in Form 1) or by a Notice of Appeal (in Form 2).
 
15.02
A Request for Hearing shall be in writing.  It shall be filed within the time period set out in the statute establishing the right to a hearing, and shall be served by the requester on the Superintendent and all other persons upon whom the Tribunal directs service.
 
15.03
A Notice of Appeal shall be in writing.  It shall be filed within the time period set out in the statute establishing the right of appeal and shall be served by the appellant on the original decision-maker (the Superintendent or DICO), all parties to the proceedings before the original decision-maker and all other persons upon whom the Tribunal directs service.
 
15.04  
The parties to a proceeding commenced by a Request for Hearing are the person who has commenced the proceeding, the Superintendent, and such other persons as the Tribunal may, by order, add as parties.

15.05  
The parties to an appeal from a decision or order of the Superintendent or DICO are the person who has commenced the appeal, the original decision-maker (the Superintendent or DICO), and such other persons as the Tribunal may, by order, add as parties.
 
15.06
Despite subsection 9.1(1) of the Statutory Powers Procedure Act, the Tribunal may, on a written motion by a party in accordance with Rule 14.02, combine two or more proceedings or any part of them, or hear two or more proceedings at the same time, without the consent of the parties. In so doing, the Tribunal may consider any relevant circumstances, including the following:
(a) The commonality of issues of fact, law, or policy;

(b) The potential prejudice to a party;

(c) The potential impact on such factors as expense, delay in proceedings, or witnesses;

(d) The interest in reducing repetitious evidence;

(e) The potential for inconsistent results related to similar fact evidence; or

(f) Any other factor it considers relevant.
 
15.07
Despite subsection 9.1(5) of the Statutory Powers Procedure Act, the Tribunal may treat evidence that is admitted in a proceeding as if it were also admitted in another proceeding that is heard at the same time, without the consent of the parties to the second-named proceeding.

 

 

16. Pre-Hearing Conference

16.01

The Tribunal may direct the parties to participate in pre-hearing conferences to consider:
(a) the identification and simplification of the issues;

 
(b) facts and evidence that may be agreed upon through an Agreed Statement of Facts and an Agreed Book of Documents which the parties shall make reasonable efforts to prepare;
 
(c) the dates by which any steps in the proceeding are to be taken or begun;
 
(d) the estimated duration of and dates for the hearing; and;
 
(e) any other matters that may assist in the just and most expeditious disposition of the proceeding, including;
 
(i) the preparation of a plan for disclosure and production of documents as required by Rule 26.01;
(ii) identifying and resolving preliminary objections or procedural issues including particulars, interrogatories, witness statements, expert witnesses, expert reports and exchanges of submissions;
(iii) deciding procedural issues including the dates by which any steps in the proceeding are to be taken or begun;
(iv) considering applications for party status;
(v) encouraging the parties to explore whether settlement is possible in the circumstances; and
(vi) determining the form of the Notice of Hearing, who should give it and bear the costs for it, and to whom and in what manner the Notice should be given.
 
The Tribunal may dispense with a pre-hearing conference when, in the opinion of the Tribunal, such a conference would not assist in the just and expeditious disposition of the proceeding.
 
16.02
A pre-hearing conference may be held in person or electronically. Pre-hearing conferences shall be held by teleconference, unless a party satisfies the Tribunal that holding it in this format would likely cause that party significant prejudice, or unless the Tribunal directs otherwise.
 
16.03
The member or members of the Tribunal conducting a pre-hearing conference may make such orders as are considered necessary or advisable with respect to the conduct of the proceeding, including adding parties.
 
16.04
The Tribunal shall issue a pre-hearing conference memorandum setting out the results of the pre-hearing conference, setting forth orders, agreements and undertakings made at the pre-hearing, and setting out the dates of the hearing and the issues that are to be determined.
 
16.05
After the pre-hearing conference has been held, no substantive issues, other than those set out in the pre-hearing conference memorandum, may be raised or addressed without leave of the Tribunal.
 
16.06
Any member who has conducted a pre-hearing conference in which some or all of the substantive issues were settled or were attempted to be settled shall not sit on the panel conducting the hearing unless the parties consent in writing.

16.07
A pre-hearing conference may be adjourned and reconvened from time to time at the request of the parties or as directed by the Tribunal.
 
 

17. Notice of Pre-Hearing Conference

17.01
Where a pre-hearing conference is to be held, the Registrar shall give written notice of the pre-hearing conference to the parties, to those who have applied for party status and to such other persons as the Tribunal determines.
 
17.02
The Notice of Pre-hearing Conference may require parties by specified dates to exchange or file documents, pre-hearing submissions or provide such other information as the Tribunal deems appropriate, and such notice shall include:
(a) the date, time, place, format and purpose of the pre-hearing conference;
 
(b) notice that each party or person who has applied for party status, to whom the notice is given, is required to attend in person or through a representative who has binding authority to make agreements and undertakings on behalf of that party or person respecting the matters addressed at the pre-hearing conference;
 
(c) notice that if a person to whom the notice is given does not attend in person or through a representative, the conference may continue in the absence of that person and that person will not be entitled to any further notice in the proceeding;
 
(d) notice that some or all of the issues may be settled at the pre-hearing conference; and
 
(e) notice that orders may be made at the pre-hearing conference that will be binding on all parties, including parties added at the pre-hearing conference, with respect to the proceeding, including setting the dates for a hearing. 
 
 

18. Interrogatories

18.01
A party may direct interrogatories to another party to:
(a) clarify evidence filed by a party;
 
(b) simplify the issues;
 
(c) permit a full and satisfactory understanding of the matters to be considered; or
 
(d) expedite the proceeding.

18.02
Interrogatories shall be served on all parties.
 
18.03
The Tribunal may, if satisfied that the parties cannot resolve the procedure for the conduct of interrogatories after making reasonable efforts to do so, issue directions regarding the conduct of the interrogatories.
 
 

19. Responses to Interrogatories

19.01
Where interrogatories have been directed to and served on a party, that party shall:
(a) provide a full and adequate response to each interrogatory on a separate page or pages;
(b) serve the response on all parties.
 
19.02
A party who is unable or unwilling to provide a full and adequate response to an interrogatory shall explain why the party is unwilling or unable to provide the response.
 
19.03
Where a party is not satisfied with the response provided, that party may file a notice of motion to have the matter determined by the Tribunal.
 
19.04
A party who has directed an interrogatory to another party may tender any response to that interrogatory in evidence at the hearing and the responding party shall be bound by that response.

Partie IV: Procédure préparatoire à l'audience

15. Introduction d'une instance

15.01
L’introduction d’une instance se fait par la présentation d’une Demande d’audience (Formulaire 1) ou d’un Avis d’appel (Formulaire 2).

15.02
La Demande d’audience doit être présentée par écrit. Elle sera signifiée par la partie requérante, dans le délai prescrit par la loi délimitant les droits en la matière, au surintendant et à toutes les autres personnes auxquelles le Tribunal ordonne que la demande soit signifiée.

15.03
L’Avis d’appel doit être présenté par écrit. Il sera signifié par la partie appelante, dans le délai prescrit par la loi délimitant les droits en la matière, au décideur initial (le surintendant ou la SOAD), à toutes les parties à l’instance devant le décideur initial et à toute autre personne à laquelle le Tribunal ordonne que l’avis soit signifié.

15.04
Ont qualité de partie à une instance introduite par une Demande d’audience la personne qui en est l’auteur, le surintendant et les autres personnes auxquelles le Tribunal accorde par ordonnance la qualité de partie.

15.05
Ont qualité de partie à un appel d’une décision ou d’une ordonnance du surintendant ou de la SOAD la personne qui a interjeté appel, le décideur initial (le surintendant ou la SOAD) et les autres personnes auxquelles le Tribunal accorde par ordonnance la qualité de partie.
 
15.06
Malgré le paragraphe 9.1 (1) de la Loi sur l’exercice des compétences légales, le Tribunal peut, sur motion écrite d’une partie en application de la Règle 14.02, réunir deux instances ou plus, en totalité ou en partie, ou instruire deux instances ou plus simultanément, sans le consentement des parties. À cette fin, le Tribunal tient compte des circonstances pertinentes, dont les suivantes :
a) Les éléments communs de fait, de droit ou de politiques;
 
b) Le préjudice possible pour une partie;

c) Les conséquences possibles sur divers aspects, comme les frais, les retards de procédure, les témoins;
 
d) L’intérêt à réduire la multiplication de preuves semblables;

e) Le risque de résultats incohérents relatifs à des preuves factuelles semblables;
 
f) Tout autre facteur qu’il estime pertinent.
 
15.07
Malgré le paragraphe 9.1 (5) de la Loi sur l’exercice des compétences légales, le Tribunal peut traiter la preuve admise dans le cadre d’une instance comme si elle était également admise dans le cadre d’une autre instance qui est entendue simultanément, sans le consentement des parties à la deuxième instance.
 
 

16. Conférence préparatoire à l'audience  

16.01
Le Tribunal peut exiger des parties qu’elles participent à des conférences préparatoires à l’audience en vue :
a) de cerner et de simplifier les questions en litige;
 
b) de cerner les faits ou les preuves sur lesquels les parties pourraient s’entendre en vertu d’un exposé conjoint des faits et d’un recueil conjoint de documents pour lesquels les parties auront déployé des efforts raisonnables à préparer;
 
c) de fixer les échéanciers des mesures à entreprendre dans le cadre de l’instance;
 
d) d’établir la durée estimative et les dates de l’audience;
 
e) d’aborder les autres points qui pourraient aider à apporter le plus rapidement possible une solution juste au litige, notamment :
 
(i) la préparation d’un plan en vue de la divulgation et de la présentation de documents tel que requis par la Règle 26.01;
(ii) l’établissement et le règlement des problèmes de procédure et des objections préliminaires, notamment au sujet de détails précis, des questions posées par écrit, des témoignages, des témoins experts, des rapports d’experts et de l’échange d’arguments écrits;
(iii) la prise des décisions relatives à la procédure, notamment en ce qui concerne les échéanciers des mesures à entreprendre dans le cadre de l’instance;
(iv) l’étude des demandes de constitution de partie;
(v) encourager les parties à explorer la possibilité d’arriver à un règlement compte tenu des circonstances;
(vi) l’établissement de la forme à donner à l’avis d’appel, de la personne devant le présenter et prendre en charge les coûts s’y rapportant, des personnes auxquelles l’avis devrait être remis et la méthode à employer pour ce faire.
 
Le Tribunal peut accorder une dispense de conférence préparatoire lorsqu’il juge qu’une telle conférence ne contribuerait pas au traitement juste et rapide de l’instance.
 
16.02
Les conférences préparatoires peuvent avoir lieu en présence des parties ou par voie électronique. Les conférences préparatoires aux audiences doivent se tenir sous forme de téléconférence, à moins que l’une des parties puisse convaincre le Tribunal que ce format lui causerait probablement un préjudice important ou sauf instruction contraire du Tribunal.

16.03
Le ou les membres du Tribunal qui ont dirigé une conférence préparatoire peuvent rendre les ordonnances qu’ils considèrent nécessaires ou pertinentes concernant le déroulement de l’instance, y compris l’ajout de partie.

16.04
Le Tribunal rédige une note où il résume les résultats de la conférence préparatoire, décrit les ordonnances émises et les ententes conclues et les engagements pris durant celle-ci et fixe la date de l’audience, ainsi que les questions dont celle‑ci traitera.

16.05
Une fois la conférence préparatoire terminée, aucune question essentielle autre que celles exposées dans la note résumant les résultats de la conférence préparatoire ne peut être soulevée ou débattue sans l’autorisation du Tribunal.

16.06
Les membres du Tribunal qui ont dirigé une conférence préparatoire au cours de laquelle les questions essentielles ont fait, en totalité ou en partie, l’objet d’un règlement ou d’une tentative de règlement ne peuvent faire partie du comité chargé de l’audience, sauf sur consentement écrit des parties.

16.07
Une conférence préparatoire peut à l’occasion être ajournée et reprise à la demande des parties ou conformément aux instructions du Tribunal.
 
 

17. Avis de conférence préparatoire

17.01
Le greffier doit donner aux parties, aux intervenants qui ont fait une demande de constitution de partie et à toute autre personne désignée par le Tribunal un avis écrit annonçant la tenue d’une conférence préparatoire à une audience.

17.02
L'avis annonçant la tenue d'une conférence préparatoire peut exiger des parties qu'elles échangent ou déposent, dans les délais indiqués, des documents et des arguments écrits, ou qu'elles présentent toute autre information jugée nécessaire par le Tribunal, et cet avis doit préciser :
a) la date, l’heure et le lieu où la conférence préparatoire se tiendra, ainsi que ses objectifs et la forme qu’elle prendra;
 
b) que chaque partie ou chaque personne qui a fait une demande de constitution de partie doit comparaître en personne ou par l’entremise d’un représentant autorisé à conclure des ententes et à prendre des engagements fermes en leur nom quant aux questions qui seront abordées à la conférence préparatoire;
 
c) laquelle l’avis a été communiqué ne comparaît pas en personne ou par l’entremise d’un représentant, la conférence préparatoire peut avoir lieu en l’absence de cette personne et que cette dernière, en ne s’y présentant pas, renonce à son droit de recevoir tout autre avis requis pour la suite de l’instance;
 
d) que les questions en litige peuvent être réglées en tout ou en partie durant la conférence préparatoire;
 
e) que le Tribunal pourra prononcer durant la conférence préparatoire des ordonnances auxquelles toutes les parties, y compris celles qui sont ajoutées lors de cette conférence, sont tenues de se conformer pour la suite de l’instance, notamment en ce qui concerne la date de la tenue de l’audience.
 
 

18. Questions posées par écrit

18.01
Une partie peut poser des questions par écrit à une autre partie en vue :
a) de préciser les preuves soumises par une partie;
 
b) de simplifier les questions en litige;
 
c) d’assurer la compréhension entière des questions en litige;
 
d) d’accélérer le déroulement de l’instance.
 
18.02
Les questions posées par écrit doivent être signifiées à toutes les parties.

18.03
Le Tribunal peut, s’il est convaincu que les parties ne peuvent parvenir à un accord sur la procédure à suivre pour poser des questions par écrit après avoir fait des efforts raisonnables dans ce sens, donner des instructions concernant cette procédure.
 
 

19. Réponses aux questions posées par écrit

19.01
La personne à qui l’on a adressé et signifié des questions posées par écrit doit :
a) répondre entièrement et séparément à chacune sur une ou plusieurs feuilles;
 
b) signifier la réponse à toutes les parties.
 
19.02
La partie qui ne peut ou ne veut pas répondre entièrement à une question posée par écrit doit exposer ses motifs à ce sujet.

19.03
Si une partie est insatisfaite de la réponse reçue, elle peut déposer un avis de motion demandant au Tribunal de se prononcer à ce sujet.

19.04
Une partie qui a posé des questions par écrit à une autre partie peut présenter toute réponse ainsi obtenue comme preuve à l’audience et la partie répondante est liée par cette réponse.