Part VI - Evidence, Witnesses and Submissions

​26. Disclosure, Production and Filing of Documents

26.01
The parties to a proceeding shall agree upon a plan for disclosure and production of relevant documents, including a timetable for carrying out the steps in the agreed-upon plan. In preparing such a plan, the parties shall take into account the principle of proportionality, and shall consider whether the costs, burden and delay that may be imposed on the parties in disclosing and producing documents are reasonable in light of the nature, scope and complexity of the matters at issue.
 
26.02
In addition to addressing procedures for the disclosure and production of relevant documents, a plan for disclosure and production of documents shall provide that:
(a) Each party must disclose to the other parties all documents that it proposes to tender as evidence in the proceeding;
 
(b) The obligation of a party to disclose and produce documents in accordance with these Rules shall continue throughout the proceeding;
 
(c) No party is required to produce a document for which privilege exists that would prevent introduction of the document at the hearing.
 
26.03
If the parties are unable to agree on a plan for disclosure and production of relevant documents, the Tribunal will by order direct such a plan, taking into account Rule 26.02, and the considerations the parties are required to take into account under Rule 26.01.
 
26.04
Where a party has not produced a document after being requested to do so by another party, that other party may by motion request the Tribunal to make an order for production.

 
26.05
Subject to Rule 8.10 and Rule 8.11, any Agreed Statement of Facts and Agreed Book of Documents prepared under Rule 16.01(b) shall be filed with the Registrar at least seven days before the hearing or by such other date as established by the Tribunal.  Written evidence, reports of experts, witness names and witness statements disclosed pursuant to Rules 28, 29 and 30 shall not be filed with the Registrar prior to the hearing, but if there is an intention to rely upon same at the hearing they shall be presented to the Tribunal during the hearing in order to determine the admissibility of such evidence. The party who wishes to rely on such evidence is responsible for bringing to the hearing sufficient copies of all documents for the panel and the Tribunal’s record pursuant to Rule 8.10, as well as to provide copies to the other party (if not already provided).
 
 

27. Disclosure of Allegations of Misconduct

27.01
Where the good character, propriety of conduct or competence of a party is an issue in the proceeding, the party is entitled to be furnished with reasonable information of any allegations at least 14 days before the hearing.
 
 

28. Written Evidence

28.01
If a party intends to rely at the hearing on evidence not contained in an Agreed Statement of Facts or an Agreed Book of Documents, that party shall disclose and produce to the opposing party the evidence in question at least 30 days prior to the hearing, or as otherwise directed by the Tribunal. This obligation applies to documents, written evidence, expert reports and witness statements as described in this Part VI of the Rules. If, as a result, the opposing party wishes to present rebuttal evidence, that party shall disclose and produce such evidence at least seven days prior to the hearing , or as otherwise directed by the Tribunal.
 
28.02
The Tribunal may direct a party to submit evidence in a specific format.
 
28.03
The Tribunal may refuse to consider evidence not served or submitted in accordance with Rule 28.01 or Rule 28.02, or may direct that the evidence be tendered in a different manner or that the evidence shall only be considered on such conditions as the Tribunal may specify.
 
 

29. Reports of Experts

29.01
At least 30 days before the hearing or as otherwise directed by the Tribunal, a party who intends to call an expert witness or to rely on or refer to the written report of an expert shall serve on the other parties a signed copy of that report or a report summarizing the expert opinion that the witness will give, as the case may be, and any such report shall include the name, address, and qualifications of the expert.
 
29.02  
Where a party receives an expert report with insufficient time to obtain its own expert report in response, that party may comply with Rule 29.01 by serving the expert report at least seven days before the hearing or as otherwise directed by the Tribunal.
 
29.03  
The Tribunal may refuse to consider an expert report or the evidence of an expert witness where the party putting forward the report or the witness has failed to comply with Rule 29.01 or Rule 29.02 or may direct that the report or the evidence shall only be considered on such conditions as the Tribunal may specify.
 
 

30. Witnesses

30.01
Subject to Rule 30.05, witnesses at an oral or electronic hearing shall be examined under oath or affirmation, unless otherwise directed by the Tribunal.
 
30.02
At least 30 days before the hearing or as otherwise directed by the Tribunal, a party who intends to call a non-expert witness shall provide the other parties with the name of the non-expert witness that the party intends to call to present evidence and shall serve on the other parties a witness statement or statement of evidence the witness will give.
 
30.03
Where a party receives a witness statement or statement of evidence with insufficient time to obtain its own witness in response, that party may comply with Rule 30.02 by providing to the other parties the name of a witness in response and serving on them a witness statement or statement of evidence for that witness at least seven days before the hearing or as otherwise directed by the Tribunal.
 
30.04
The Tribunal may refuse to consider the evidence of a witness where the party putting forward the witness has failed to comply with Rule 30.02 or Rule 30.03 or may direct that the evidence shall only be considered on such conditions as the Tribunal may specify.
 
30.05
The Tribunal may order that:
(a) any particular facts be proved by affidavit;
 
(b) the affidavit of a witness be read at an oral or electronic hearing; and
 
(c) a witness be examined under oath or affirmation before the hearing.
 
30.06
The Tribunal may direct a witness to confirm under oath or affirmation that certain written evidence was prepared by the witness or under the direction or control of the witness and is accurate to the best of his or her knowledge or belief.
 
 

31. Summons to Witness

31.01
A party who wishes to summon a person to give testimony or to produce documents at a hearing shall prepare a Summons to Witness in Form 3 and submit it to the Registrar.
 
31.02
The Chair, Vice-Chair or member of the panel may sign the Summons to Witness.
 
31.03
The party requesting a Summons to Witness shall serve it personally upon the person named in the Summons and shall pay the person the participation fees set out in Appendix B.

 
31.04
Pursuant to sections 10(2), 10(3) and 10(4) of the Act,
(a) Neither the Superintendent, Director of Arbitrations, nor any member of the Tribunal shall be required to testify in a proceeding before the Tribunal; and
 
(b) Except with the consent of the Superintendent, no employee of the Commission or any person engaged by the Superintendent or the Tribunal shall be required to testify in a proceeding before the Tribunal, respecting information obtained in the discharge of the person’s duties under the Act, the Financial Services Commission of Ontario Act, 1997, or any other act.

 

32. Submissions

32.01
If a party intends to present to the Tribunal written submissions and/or a Book of Authorities at the hearing, the party shall provide the opposing party with a copy of these submissions and/or Book of Authorities at least seven days prior to the hearing or as directed by the Tribunal.
 
32.02
Subject to Rule 8.10 and Rule 8.11, if a party intends to present to the Tribunal written submissions and/or a Book of Authorities at the hearing, the party shall file with the Registrar these submissions and/or Book of Authorities at least seven days prior to the hearing or as directed by the Tribunal.

Partie VI: Éléments de preuve, témoins et observations

26. Divulgation, présentation et dépôt de documents

26.01
Les parties à une instance doivent convenir d’un plan en vue de la divulgation et de la présentation des documents pertinents, y compris un calendrier pour l’exécution des mesures prévues dans le plan convenu. Pour préparer ce plan, les parties tiendront compte du principe de proportionnalité et détermineront si les coûts, le supplément de travail et les délais additionnels pouvant être imposés aux parties relativement à la divulgation et la présentation des documents sont raisonnables compte tenu de la nature, de la portée et de la complexité des questions en litige.
 
26.02
Outre la présentation de la procédure pour la divulgation et la présentation des documents pertinentes, le plan en vue de la divulgation et la présentation de ces documents stipulera les points suivants :
a) Chaque partie a l’obligation de communiquer aux autres parties tous les documents qu’elle prévoit présenter à titre de preuve dans l’instance.
 
b) L’obligation imposée à une partie de divulguer et produire des documents conformément aux présentes règles s’applique pendant toute la durée de l’instance.
 
c) Aucune partie n’est tenue de produire un document faisant l’objet d’un privilège qui empêcherait la présentation du document à l’audience.
 
26.03
Si les parties ne parviennent pas à convenir d’un plan en vue de la divulgation et de la présentation des documents pertinents, le Tribunal rendra une ordonnance enjoignant la production d’un tel plan, conformément à la Règle 26.02, ainsi que les facteurs dont les parties devront tenir compte en vertu de la Règle 26.01.
 
26.04
Lorsqu’une partie omet de présenter un document après avoir reçu une demande à cet effet d’une autre partie, cette autre partie peut présenter une motion au Tribunal pour lui demander de rendre une ordonnance imposant la présentation du document.
 
26.05
Conformément à la Règle 8.10 et la Règle 8.11, l’exposé conjoint des faits et le recueil conjoint de documents préparés en vertu de la Règle 16.01 b) doivent être déposés devant le greffier au moins sept jours avant l’audience ou à toute autre date établie par le Tribunal. Les preuves écrites, rapports d’experts et déclarations de témoins divulgués conformément aux Règles 28, 29 et 30 ne doivent pas être déposés devant le greffier avant l’audience, toutefois, lorsqu’une partie souhaite s’appuyer sur cette preuve, elle doit les présenter devant le Tribunal au cours de l’audience afin que ce dernier puisse en établir l’admissibilité. La partie qui souhaite s’appuyer sur cette preuve doit en apporter des copies à l’audience en nombre suffisant pour en remettre une à chaque membre du comité, ainsi qu’une copie pour le dossier du Tribunal conformément à la Règle 8.10, et en remettre une copie à l’autre partie (si cela n’a pas déjà été fait).
 
 

27. Divulgation d'allégations d'inconduite

27.01
La partie dont la réputation, la conduite ou la compétence est mise en cause dans une instance peut exiger qu’on l’informe de toute allégation à ce sujet, dans la limite raisonnable, au moins 14 jours avant l’audience.
 
 

28. Preuves documentaires

28.01
Si l’une des parties a l’intention d’appuyer son argumentation sur une preuve autre que celles contenues dans l’exposé conjoint des faits ou dans le recueil conjoint de documents, cette partie doit divulguer et présenter cette preuve à la partie adverse au moins 30 jours avant l’audience ou dans les délais fixés par le Tribunal. Cette obligation s’applique aux documents, aux preuves écrites, aux rapports d’experts et aux déclarations de témoins, conformément aux dispositions énoncées à la partie VI des règles. Si, après le dépôt d’une telle preuve, la partie adverse souhaite présenter une contre-preuve, cette partie doit divulguer et présenter cette preuve au moins sept jours avant l’audience ou dans les délais fixés par le Tribunal.

28.02
Le Tribunal peut décider de la forme de la preuve devant être présentée par une partie.

28.03
Le Tribunal peut refuser d’examiner des éléments de preuve qui ne sont pas signifiés ou présentés conformément à la Règle 28.01 ou 28.02, ou il peut exiger que l’élément de preuve soit présenté d’une autre manière ou soit considéré selon les conditions établies par le Tribunal, le cas échéant.
 
 

29. Rapports d'experts

29.01
La partie qui compte appeler un témoin expert à déposer, présenter en preuve le rapport écrit d’un expert ou s’y référer doit, au moins 30 jours avant l’audience ou dans les délais fixés par le Tribunal, le cas échéant, signifier aux autres parties un exemplaire signé de ce rapport ou d’un rapport résumant l’avis d’expert que le témoin présentera, selon le cas, et ce rapport précisera le nom, l’adresse et les titres de compétence de ce témoin.

29.02
Lorsqu’une partie reçoit un rapport d’expert et n’a pas le temps d’obtenir son propre rapport d’expert pour y répondre, elle peut se conformer à la Règle 29.01 en signifiant le rapport d’expert au moins sept jours avant l’audience ou dans les délais fixés par le Tribunal, le cas échéant.

29.03
Le Tribunal peut refuser d’examiner un rapport d’expert ou le témoignage d’un témoin expert lorsque la partie qui présente le rapport ou le témoin a enfreint la Règle 29.01 ou 29.02; il peut aussi stipuler que le rapport ou le témoignage soit seulement considéré selon les conditions établies par le Tribunal, le cas échéant.
 
 

30. Témoins

30.01
Sous réserve de la Règle 30.05, les personnes appelées à témoigner à une audience orale ou électronique doivent le faire sous serment ou affirmation solennelle, sauf instruction contraire du Tribunal.

30.02
Les parties doivent communiquer aux autres parties, au moins 30 jours avant l’audience ou dans les délais stipulés par le Tribunal, le cas échéant, le nom de toutes les personnes (autres que des experts) qu’elles comptent appeler à témoigner; elles doivent de plus, pour chacune, déposer et signifier aux autres parties une déclaration du témoin ou un énoncé de la preuve que dévoilera le témoin.

30.03
Lorsqu’une partie reçoit une déclaration du témoin ou l’énoncé de la preuve et n’a pas le temps de faire comparaître son propre témoin pour y répondre, elle peut se conformer à la Règle 30.02 en communiquant aux autres parties le nom d’un témoin en réponse et leur signifier une déclaration du témoin ou un énoncé de la preuve que dévoilera le témoin au moins sept jours avant l’audience ou dans les délais fixés par le Tribunal, le cas échéant.

30.04
Le Tribunal peut refuser d’examiner l’élément de preuve qu’entend dévoiler un témoin lorsque la partie qui présente le témoin a enfreint la Règle 30.02 ou 30.03; il peut aussi stipuler que cet élément de preuve soit seulement considéré selon les conditions établies par le Tribunal, le cas échéant.
 
30.05
Le Tribunal peut ordonner :
a) que des faits donnés soient soutenus par un affidavit;
 
b) que l’affidavit d’un témoin soit lu à une audience orale ou électronique;
 
c) qu’un témoin soit interrogé sous serment ou affirmation solennelle avant l’audience.
 
30.06
Le Tribunal peut aussi exiger qu’un témoin confirme sous serment ou affirmation   solennelle qu’il a lui-même préparé la preuve documentaire ou que cela a été accompli   sous sa direction ou son contrôle et que cette preuve est exacte, dans la mesure de ses connaissances.
 
 

31. Assignation des témoins

31.01
La partie qui désire qu’une personne comparaisse comme témoin ou produise des documents à une audience doit remplir un formulaire d’assignation 3 et le soumettre au greffier.

31.02
Le président, le vice-président ou un membre du comité peuvent signer l’Assignation de témoin.

31.03
La partie ayant demandé l’assignation aux témoins la signifie à la personne désignée dans le formulaire et lui verse les indemnités de participation prescrites à l’annexe B.
 
31.04
Conformément aux paragraphes 10 (2), 10 (3) et 10 (4) de la Loi :
a) Le surintendant, le directeur des arbitrages ou tout autre membre du Tribunal ne sont pas tenus de témoigner dans une instance devant le Tribunal;
 
b) Sauf avec le consentement du surintendant, un employé de la Commission ou toute personne que le surintendant ou le Tribunal a engagée n’est pas tenu de témoigner dans les instances devant le Tribunal en ce qui concerne des renseignements obtenus dans l’exercice de ses fonctions aux termes de la présente loi, la Loi de 1997 sur la Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario, ou de toute autre loi.

 

32. Observations

32.01
Si l’une des parties a l’intention de présenter au Tribunal des observations écrites ou un dossier des sources invoquées à l’audience, ladite partie doit remettre à la partie adverse une copie de ces documents ou du dossier des sources invoquées avant l’audience, au moins sept jours ouvrables avant l’audience ou dans les délais fixés par le Tribunal.
 
32.02
Conformément à la Règle 8.10 et à la Règle 8.11, si l’une des parties a l’intention de présenter au Tribunal des observations écrites ou un dossier des sources invoquées à l’audience, ladite partie déposer auprès du greffier les observations et/ou le dossier des sources invoquées au moins sept jours avant l’audience, ou dans les délais fixés par le Tribunal.